fullsizeoutput_34cf

So I decided to start going through and studying different women in the Bible who had an impact on those around them and the Kingdom and see what I can learn from them. Well for whatever reason I flipped to Joshua first and the story of Rahab and the spies. I’ve only done the first verse of that chapter but I’m hoping maybe today to keep on and study some more. But the reason I stopped is because something really stood out to me.

‘And Joshua the son of Nun sent two men secretly from Shittim as spies, saying, “Go, view the land, especially Jericho.” And they went and came into the house of a prostitute whose name was Rahab and lodged there.’ Joshua 2:1

Okay so Joshua picks two guys and sends them out secretly to check out the land and see what it’s like. I’m going to guess these guys were godly men of Israel, you know someone he could trust to do a good job. Then the next sentence is what popped out at me. ‘And they went and came into the house of a prostitute whose name was Rahab and lodged there’  Why did these guys go to a prostitute’s house?? Am I the only one who finds that kind of interesting? 

I get that God used her to help them out and she repented and turned to the Lord, but it just kind of shocked me that these guys went to her house. It just shows that God can use anyone to further His kingdom. He can use sinners (like ever one of us) to bring glory to His name.

I’m really looking forward to sharing more from my study time on women of the Bible. If y’all have thoughts on this go ahead and comment.

 

